Menstuff® has compiled the following information on these
weird antilust laws that are actually on the books...even if they're
In Alaska, it's illegal to intentionally expose your bare butt to someone.
In Indiana, it's illegal for a man to have a visible erection in public, even if it is covered by clothing.
In Oklahoma, it's illegal to seduce a virgin by promising that you'll marry her. (What about seducing a male virgin?)
In South Carolina, it's illegal for any unmarried man or woman to "make a habit" of engaging in sexual intercourse.
In Utah, it's illegal to have oral sex.
More to come.
Source: A Guide
to America's Sex Laws
But Is It Legal
Alabama: C: First conviction: min $100 fine
and/or sentence to prison or hard labor for max. 6 mos.
Second: min $300 fine and/or sentence to prison or hard labor
for 1 yr. Third: 2 yrs sentence.
Alaska: C: Max $500 fine and/or 1-2 yrs sentence.
Arizona C: Felony. Max 3 yrs sentence.
Arkansas C: Misdemeanor. First conviction: $20-$100 fine. Second: $100 and max. 1 yr sentence. Third: 1-3 yrs sentence.
Florida C: Misdemeanor Max 60 days. F: Same
Georgia: F: Misdemeanor.
Hawaii: F: $15-50 fine and/or 1-3 mos. sentence.
Idaho: C: Misdemeanor. Max $300 fine and/or max. 6 mos. sentence. F: Same
Illinois: C: Misdemeanor. Less than 1 yr sentence. F: Same
Indiana: C: Max. $500 fine and/or max. 6 mos. sentence. F: Same
Kansas: C: Misdemeanor. $500-$1000 fine and/or 1-3 mos. sentence.
Massachusetts: C: Max. $300 fine or max. 3 yrs sentence. F: Max $30 fine or max. 3 mos. sentence.
Michigan: C: Misdemeanor. Max. $500 fine or max. 1 yr. sentence
Mississippi: C: Max. $500 fine and 6 mos. sentence. F: Same
Nebraska: Max. $100 fine and 6 mos. sentence.
New Jersey: F: Misdemeanor. Max $50 fine and/or 6 mos. sentence.
New Mexico: C: Warning by judge.
North Carolina: C: Misdemeanor. Max $500 fine and/or 6 mos. sentence. F: Same
Rhode Island: F: Max $10 fine.
South Carolina: C: $100-500 fine and/or 6 mos-1 yr. sentence. F: Same
Utah: F: Max. $299 fine or 6 mos. sentence. Makes you think you're not being punished as severely as in Idaho.)
Virginia: C: Misdemeanor. First conviction: $500 max. fine. Thereafter: $1,000 max. fine and/or 1 yr. sentence. F: Misdemeanor. Max $100 fine.
West Virginia: C: Misdemeanor. Min. $50 fine and/or min. 6 mos. sentence. F: Misdemeanor. Min. $20 fine.
Wisconsin: C: Max. $500 fine and/or max. 1 yr. sentence. F: Max. $200 fine and/or 6 mos. sentence.
Wyoming: C: Max. $100 fine and/or max. 3 mos. sentence.
Washington, DC: F: Max $300 fine and/or 6 mos. sentence.
I wonder if once convicted you are then termed a sex offender. This isn't a flippant question. Read on.
The fact that few people have been prosecuted under these laws
doesn't remove the possibility for some Assistant DA to try to
make a name for himself. While the laws still exists, there exists
the danger of them being applied. On, I believe, Oprah, within
the past year, there was a boy 18 and a girl 19. They had a child
out-of-wedlock, but the boy committed to raise the child and both
sets of parents were supporting the couple. However, the two had
conceived while both under 18 and the local DA was charging the boy,
and asking for a prison sentence. The girl, who as an adult at 18 was
having sex with the boy, then 17 (a minor), was not charged because
she needed to raise the child. But that's not the end to what can
happen. If convicted, the boy would be listed as a sex offender and
would never be able to visit his daughter without supervised
visitation. Tell me there isn't a strong connection between church
and state. And, these laws need to be eliminated before they end up
putting one of us or our children in prison for a personal
Don't Have Sex in Mississippi